Skip to content

Meet the Staff: Graham Dozier

12/02/2014

From answering phone inquiries to photographing new acquisitions, the staff at the VHS have a wide range of talents that help make our collections accessible to the world. Who are the talented men and women of the VHS? In a series of “Meet the Staff” blog posts, we will introduce you to the people who work behind the scenes to collect, preserve, and interpret Virginia history.

Meet Graham Dozier

Meet the Staff: Graham DozierWhat is your job title?

Manager of Publications

When did you begin working at the VHS?

I began working at the VHS as a library clerk in May of 1995.

What are your job duties?

I oversee the production of the society’s journal, the Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, and newsletter, History Notes, and manage the Banner Lecture series.

How did you become interested in history?

Ever since I was very young I have been interested in history. I was very fortunate to have a handful of great history teachers at different times in my academic career, each of whom nurtured my love of history.

What is the favorite part of your job?

As the managing editor of the Virginia Magazine, I enjoy reading the great variety of articles that get submitted. Virginia’s history is 400 years old and I enjoy learning new things about it with every article I work on.

What has been your most memorable moment at the VHS?

One of my most memorable moments at the VHS was seeing the time capsule from the cornerstone be opened. On May 20, 1912, officials of the Confederate Memorial Association celebrated the laying of the cornerstone of Battle Abbey. A carved niche in the cornerstone contained a time capsule in a copper box. On April 18, 2012, Paul Levengood, VHS President and CEO, removed the one-hundred-year-old time capsule from the cornerstone. The box was stuffed to the lid with more than 100 items, including newspapers, postcards, Confederate army documents and currency, and materials relating to the Confederate Memorial Institute.

Photograph of Graham Dozier and Nelson Lankford looking at documents from the time capsule.

Here I am looking at some of the documents from the time capsule.

Photograph of Graham Dozier and Paul Levengood looking at documents from the time capsule.

What is your favorite item in your office? Why?

A portrait of Confederate colonel Thomas Henry Carter, which hangs on the wall above my desk, is my favorite item in my office because it always reminds me of my favorite historical subject, the Civil War.

What is your favorite collection piece at the VHS?

My favorite collection at the VHS are the Thomas Henry Carter papers (VHS call number: Mss1 C2466a). This collection primarily contains papers relating to service of Thomas Henry Carter in the King William Artillery Battery and as chief of artillery to Daniel Harvey Hill and Jubal A. Early. While working on my book, “A Gunner in Lee’s Army: The Civil War Letters of Thomas Henry Carter,” I spent a lot of time working closely with this collection. I will deliver a Banner Lecture about Thomas Henry Carter at Noon on December 4, 2014 at the VHS. 

Book cover of "A Gunner in Lee's Army: The Civil War Letters of Thomas Henry Carter"

What is your favorite historical period?

The Civil War era

What are your hobbies?

I enjoy buying and reading books, both fiction and nonfiction.

If you did not work at the VHS, what would you be doing?

I would find some way to research and write about Civil War history.

Read more blogs written by Graham.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kerry Brandoff permalink
    02/21/2016 5:10 pm

    I am looking for information about Scottish Prisoners of War who were sent to Virginia as indentured servants about 1652. Can you give me info about this? Or suggest where else in VA that I can look? My ancestor, Robert Ebernethell/Abernethy came to VA as an indentured servant, most likely from Scotland.
    Kerry

    Like

Leave a Reply

