Skip to content

Meet the Staff: Tony Walters

08/22/2014

From answering phone inquiries to photographing new acquisitions, the staff at the VHS have a wide range of talents that help make our collections accessible to the world. Who are the talented men and women of the VHS? In a series of “Meet the Staff” blog posts, we will introduce you to the people who work behind the scenes to collect, preserve, and interpret Virginia history.

Meet Tony Walters

Meet the Staff - Tony Walters

What is your job title?

Library Clerk

When did you begin working at the VHS?

I began working a the VHS on November 1, 2012.

What are your job duties?

At the VHS, my main job duty is to assist patrons in our research library. I also retrieve and reshelve manuscripts, fulfill mail orders, and perform various clerical and organizational duties that help keep the library functioning on a daily basis.

Photograph of Tony helping patrons register in the VHS library.

Here I am helping patrons register at the main desk in the library.

How did you become interested in history?

I read a lot of Asterix when I was very small, and when my reading improved, I moved on to lots of historical fiction. My parents were always sure to impart an appreciation of history to me, and my father sealed the deal by taking me to Colonial Williamsburg for a vacation when I was in the third grade.

What is the favorite part of your job?

I really enjoy meeting all of the interesting people who come to the VHS to conduct research in our library and learning more about the diverse topics they choose to research.

Tony presenting a map in the VHS reading room

What has been your most memorable moment at the VHS?

Working during the incredibly busy week when the National Genealogical Conference was in Richmond.

What is your favorite item in your office? Why?

The little green Army men who decorate the main desk in the library. They’ve been here longer than I and add a lot of character to our desk, not to mention they consistently amuse our patrons.

Toy Army men decorate the main desk in the VHS reading room

Remember to use a pencil when filling out your call slips!

What is your favorite collection piece at the VHS?

All of the John James Audubon books that we have, particularly our Royal Octavo edition of Birds of America (Rare Books QL674 .A92 1840/44). Check out the blog that I wrote about this collection. You can also visit our website to learn about Audubon’s Viviparous Quadrupeds (Rare Books folio QL715 .A916 1845)

Image of Audubon's Belted Kingfisher

Here is Audubon’s Belted Kingfisher (QL674.A92.1840_44.Rare.v4.Pl255)

What is your favorite historical period?

The Middle Ages

What are you hobbies?

When I am not at the VHS, I enjoy listening to music, watching movies, reading books, and playing soccer and tennis.

If you did not work at the VHS, what would you be doing?

I would be working in Latin or South American promoting environmental education.

Read more blogs written by Tony.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 08/26/2014 2:15 pm

    HAHA! Those army men invaded in 2006 as part of the Wilkins unit. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

